3 April 2023

At the Annual General Meeting on Sunday, March 26, held in the 1827 Old Methodist Chapel, some thirty members of the Aylmer Heritage Association elected a Board of Directors, including four previous presidents, to serve a two-year term from 2023 to 2025. The eight Board members are Ian Barrett, Richard M. Bégin, Mary Duggan, Enid Page, Stephanie Read-Sukhareva, Lynne Rodier, Gabriela Sanchez and Jayne Simms-Dalmotas.

The meeting was chaired by outgoing president, Réjeanne Gagnon who, with Board

members Isabelle Desmeules, Francine Faucher and Ghislain Otis, did not seek re-election. Thanks were expressed to all of them for their work during the difficult time of the Covid pandemic, which restricted activities, and led to declining member involvement. Association operations were drastically affected by the sad and sudden death of president Micheline Lemieux in March 2021. For two years, a small Board – at times comprising only three to four persons – kept the Association afloat with the valued assistance of part-time office coordinator, Dominique Dufour.

Reports at the meeting revealed the Association to be in sound financial shape and with a plan to guide its operations from 2023 to 2026). The new Board appointed Richard Bégin and Enid Page to serve as co-presidents.

Richard Bégin stated, “The people of Aylmer have never failed to support Aylmer Heritage Association in its work to protect the community’s heritage buildings and green spaces, which are the envy of all who live in the Ville de Gatineau and the Outaouais region.”

Enid Page added, “We count on members and supporters to ensure that the Association continues its commitment to preserving Aylmer’s heritage, particularly as we develop plans to celebrate the 50th Anniversary of Aylmer Heritage Association in 2024/2025. We welcome new members of all ages, both francophone and anglophone.”

# # #

For further information, please contact Richard M. Bégin



The new Board for the Aylmer Heritage Association (2023-2025). 

From left to right: Ian Barrett, Jayne Simms-Dalmotas, Gabriela Sanchez, Enid Page,  Mary Duggan, Lynne Rodier, Richard M. Bégin and Stephanie Read-Sukhareva.